Daddy

Almost every evening, Keisha Grant and I have dinner while watching Brian Williams.  During a Michael Jackson story this week, she casually mentioned that her father (a.k.a. “Daddy”) appeared in one of Jackson’s videos.

I looked up from my ham and cheese, and said something equivalent to “pardon me?”  (I don’t believe those were the exact words.)

I have had the privilege of spending time with Daddy, who is as delightful and gentle a human being as you will ever want to meet.  As a matter of fact, I even called him Daddy because I didn’t know his first name for the longest time.  (And we’re not that far apart in age.)

His name is Basil.  And Basil Grant does something that, it’s safe to say, your daddy never did and never will.  Basil Grant eats fire.  (My dad occasionally breathed fire.  But eat it?  No.)

And so he did in the 1992 Michael Jackson video, “Remember the Time,” which also featured the likes of Eddie Murphy, Iman, and Magic Johnson.

Ladies and gentlemen, I give you Mr. Basil Grant, a.k.a. “Daddy,” who appears 2 minutes and 12 seconds into the video.  Enjoy!

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in People, TV Stuff and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Daddy

  1. Melissa says:

    That is amazing! All my dad ever does is talk about the Red Sox and his never ending knowledge about all their stats.

    Her dad is the best!

  2. Brian Parker says:

    Oh no – he losses his head.

    That’s a great piece of local trivia, thanks G.

  3. Amber says:

    Wow! That’s awesome! What a memory to have.

  4. Now that is one hellofa claim to fame. How cool! Thanks for posting that little slice of life story…I have a big smile after looking at the video

  5. Keisha says:

    Nice! Thanks for giving my father … (ok, who am I kidding now that everyone knows I still call him “daddy” … thanks Ger lol ) his due props. I’m sure he’s flattered that you would include him in your blog. 🙂

  6. Stormy says:

    Awesome story! I always had a hunch that Keisha came from royalty. 🙂

    Nice job Daddy!!

  7. Hey Gerry

    Thanks for the big up and props on your blog today.

    I really appreciate it.

    Have a nice day.

    Basil “aka” Daddy

  8. Gerry says:

    Yo Daddy! As you can tell from the comments, you’re a HIT!!!
    Hope to see you soon.

    Click on Basil’s name and see more pix of him eating fire. Hot! (And way cool.)

  9. Dan McCarthy says:

    That… is… AWESOME.

  10. Debra Alfarone says:

    Awesome! Who knew?

  11. Pingback: Keisha, MJ & Daddy « The Laurel

  12. Pingback: Rum and Coke « The Brooks File

Leave a Reply

