Freak Show

At work Monday night, and noticed an “urgent” had just crossed the Associated Press wire.  The headline: JON & KATE SPLIT

This…is “urgent” news.  (I find the fact that it’s any kind of news somewhat distressing.)  What we have here is a couple married for 10 years, with eight children, sextuplets and twins.  Now they’re getting divorced.  And apparently, it’s everybody’s business, because they live their lives on a successful cable reality show.

What kind of people do this?  Really, I want to know.  (As Denis Leary once asked of the Jacksons, “Do they give each other new heads for Christmas?”)

The A.P. story quoted the Jon unit of “Jon & Kate” as saying, “This is the hardest episode ever.”  Episode???  He looks at the breakup of his marriage as an episode of a television series???  This person was allowed to procreate???

As for the Kate unit of “Jon & Kate,” she promises, “The show must go on.”  Not “our lives must go on,” but the “show.”  Her life is a television show.  Sweet.

Those poor kids.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in People, TV Stuff and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Freak Show

  1. Don Ennis says:

    If it is any consolation, the newscast which currently employs me on a very freelance basis (my choice) did not include that “breaking” story tonight, for the very reasons you name here in your always excellent blog.

    I am sure it will be the subject of a question tomorrow from said employer. So be it. I will sleep well tonight having channeled my inner Gerry.

    Isn’t it enough that it’s all over facebook – where it belongs?

  2. Dan McCarthy says:

    I suddenly want to start punching random things for some reason.

  3. As I write this I’m watching TV ( Wimbledon ) There’s a promo on for a show called ” Wipeout. ” The concept of which, if I’m not mistaken, is people humiliating themselves by falling off things. We’ve come a long way since ” Omnibus. ”

    I know, a little off topic. But kinda the same thing. If we are what we watch…

    God help us.

  4. Linda says:

    “Those poor kids” is absolutely right. All the money made off of them is not enriching their lives…..it’s destroyed a family.

  5. Steve says:

    Those kids better start counseling now…and it better not be part of the TV show.

  6. Johnny says:

    My wife had to watch this show last night. What a waste of time. I see that this woman Kate had a transformation and thinks she’s a beauty queen. The show must go on? Someone better talk to the sponsors. They should stay together and learn to live together for the children. They are all adorable and are the victims. Jon and Kate really deserve each other.

    They should go out and get a real job!

Leave a Reply

