Web-cation

I was back in Buenos Aires for a while this week.  Had a nice time in the emerging neighborhood of Barracas, thanks to this New York Times article.

One thing the web does quite well is help me get away for a minute, for an hour, for as long as I need.  Sometimes I learn more about places I’ve been, and long to return to. 

So now I want to return to Buenos Aires and see what’s happening in Barracas for myself.  I want to see the work of  Marino Santa María, who took it upon himself to make each house a work of art with mosaics.  Hartford could use a Marino Santa María. 

Marino's mosaics

Marino's mosaics

Aside from falling in love with B.A., I have something of an emotional investment in the city.  It’s where I left my mustache during our visit in March, 2007. 

It’s nothing Tony Bennett would sing about, but it’s worth humming a little tune for me.

So, where to next?

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Digital World, It's all about me, Travel and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Web-cation

  1. Gerry:

    Do you remember a show on channel 3 many, many years ago..I think it was called ” Around The World”. It was like a quiz information show that had personality. My mothers lawyer, James Eagan was on the panel. It was pretty cool, as a kid, you got to hear about and see foreign places.

    Kind of like the Times article, except I had to go to an almanac to find out more about the places that were mentioned…not just click on a search engine like today!

    Happy D-Day (Digital transition day!)

  2. Gerry says:

    Marsh, I know the show you’re talking about, but I didn’t grow up here, so I never saw it.

  3. I remember that show, Marshall. Vaguely. Boy were those days different in Hartford. Right up into the 80s, WTIC FM was mostly classical music. Can you imagine Gary Craig introducing Mozart’s Piano Concerto #21 in C Minor?

  4. Mike Watt says:

    Gerry
    Didn’t know you were a Buenos Aires fan. We visited there for ten days about three years ago and really enjoyed the neighborhoods, the food, the antiques market and the extraordinary graveyard where Eva Peron rules from beyond!
    Mike

  5. Gerry says:

    What was not to like? We also spent a few days in Carmelo, Uruguay, and flew to Mendoza, Argentina’s wine country for a couple of days.

    And that cemetery was like a small town!

    Gotta go back.

  6. Pingback: What Did I Tell You? « The Brooks File

Leave a Reply

