The Coolest Dude On TV

Gotta be Max Weinberg.  I will entertain opposing viewpoints, but I’m a Max man.

And he works in a suit!

And he works in a suit!

His full time job (I hate the word ‘gig’) is following in the footsteps of Skitch Henderson, Doc Severinsen and Kevin Eubanks as the leader of The Tonight Show Band

When he’s taking a break from Conan, he’s on the road with Bruce Springsteen.  Two jobs.  Cool and way cool.

And when his two worlds collide?  He’s turned the drums into a family business.  When he has to miss part of the Springsteen tour to tend to his new Tonight Show duties, Bruce has a different drummer for the first time since 1974.

Jay Weinberg.  Son of Max.

Again, I will entertain opposing viewpoints, but they better be really good.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Media, Noticed, People, TV Stuff and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Coolest Dude On TV

  1. Guys like Max are such unsung ( pun intended ) heroes in the late night TV scene. Skitch was great. Doc was greater. But my fave was Tommy Newsom. Sax player who played the Max role for Carson for a while. Musicians can be very funny guys. They understand timing and rhythm and pregnant pauses. stuff like that.

  2. Dan McCarthy says:

    I guess the apple doesn’t fall from the tree!

    By the way (and I feel absolutely terrible for saying this), I think Conan’s been doing an incredible job so far. September 14 is coming quick though, and I intend to be there!

  3. joan says:

    opposing view? hardly. of all the folks out there with 2 jobs, Mighty Max has the best 2 possible. Bruce is known for nurturing new talent and who better than Jay Weinberg! Rock on Boss…looking forward to Giants Stadium!

  4. Gerry's Mentor says:

    And let’s not forget Little Steven……

  5. Gerry says:

    Not at all…but he doesn’t play in a suit. I mean, how the hell do you beat those drums in a suit in a TV studio and not break a sweat? Now that’s cool!

Leave a Reply

