Oh So Def

I spent a chunk of the afternoon learning how to apply makeup for high definition television.

I learned I have to moisturize, prep, prime, mineralize and neutralize.  Not unlike painting a house, I guess.

At least they didn’t tell me to vaporize.

By the way, if I’m on your gift list, I’m an NC-30 at the MAC store.  Which, I suppose, is better than being an NC-17 at the movies. 

Or not.  We’ll find out soon enough.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in It's all about me, TV Stuff and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Oh So Def

  1. There might just be a book in this. An anchorman’s 20th and 21st century journey. Jesus. The things Murrow’s boys didn’t have to worry about. Snipers. Flack. Spys with sharp knives and loaded weapons. Pales in comparison to what 21st century anchors have to put up with.

  2. Gerry says:

    That’s right dammit. Those slackers never had to mineralize.

  3. Or accessorize. Nice tie.

  4. Stormy says:

    Looking forward to the switchover!!

  5. Kirk says:

    Be happy — at some stations they are making the anchors apply makeup with an airbrush-like set-up. Alas, it doesn’t quite look much like the airbrushing that goes on in certain magazines.

  6. Gerry says:

    So I’ve heard. Like anything new, I’ll be apprehensive and/or mystified for the first 5 minutes…then life will proceed apace.

  7. Gerry…

    Thats why I picked radio….
    Just the voice…and peoples imaginations.

    And I can wear a shirt with a stain on it to boot!

    btw, I was in television once…sort of…a short stint MANY years ago at Channel 30! The weatherman at the time, ( He used to do the crazy Bedding Barn commercials a long time ago ), got me the job!

    I lasted about two weeks…I always forgot to change the evening and 11 PM temperatures on the weather map.

  8. Oh, I was a stage manager, I think that was my title!

  9. Graham says:

    I generally resist change. So I think I’ll just put on my old glasses when I watch the “new” t.v. and then everything will look just like it does today.
    Oh, never mind, I don’t have a high def t.v. – or at least I don’t think it is………..
    Wow, Friday, I could be in for quite a shock.
    Just one question, Gerry, does high def grow hair? I sure hope so, need some back. I just saw a video of myself from the back (my good side) and didn’t realize the “spot” on the back of my head had grown so much.
    Hey, have fun the the MAKEUP ROOM.

  10. Linda says:

    First shopping, now make-up! Can’t wait to see the new you!

  11. jman1339 says:

    Is Friday the big debut of NBC Connecticut HD??

  12. Gerry says:

    Marsh…that’s what I really loved about radio, too.

    Graham…believe it or not, when they lit the set last week, I asked the lighting guy, “Does it look like I have hair?” And when I saw the back of my head, well…whaddaya gonna do?

    Linda…I’m just one of the girls.

    And jman…in a word, no. We still have more work to do to get ready, but it’s not too far off.

  13. Gerry's Mentor says:

    This is way too much of a softball opportunity, but even Wagner Power Painter wouldn’t help on this case….. Sorry, Ger

  14. Gerry says:

    What a bitter, bitter man.

Leave a Reply

