The Accent

It came out of nowhere on the air the other day, and then quickly went away again.

The Boston Accent. 

You know, “pahk ya cah.” 

Sometimes it swoops down like a crazed bird, attacks my lips, then flies away before I even know what hit me.

On the air, it doesn’t happen very often.  Once a season.  Maybe once a year.  I’ve only been working in Connecticut for 35 years, so I’m still trying to get it right.

But after the “what the hell just happened” feeling goes away, I actually have to smile and enjoy the moment. 

Hey, it’s where I’m from.  It’s what I am.  And it’s all good.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in It's all about me, Living in the Past, Noticed, TV Stuff and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Accent

  1. One of my best friends growing up, Peter Graham, didn’t have the luck of the Irish I had. I slipped under the flaps of the Air Force tent. Pete got drafted. Army. Nam. I spent two years at an RAF base north of London. Michael Caine was big back then, but I didn’t come back to The World with a Cockney accent. Pete? We were from western Massachusetts. No accent, to speak of. Guys I met in the USAF were surprised, when they learned I was from The Bay State, that I didn’t have that Boston area accent.

    I got back from England around the same time Pete returned from Nam.

    ” How ya doing, ? “I asked my friend.

    I can’t remember what he said in return, but I do recall this: He spoke with a Boston accent. He’d just spent a year in a combat zone. Shared foxholes with guys from Dedham and Southie. Picked up the language.

    Peter Graham. Might be the only guy in Chicopee these days who says, Pahk the cah.

    All good indeed.

  2. Kirk says:

    Just as long as you can say “Noo Brit-ANN” properly sir.

  3. Gerry says:

    Great story, Terry…

    And Kirk, don’t forget NOO Haven.

  4. Graham says:

    Except in Gerry’s business, sometimes it’s good not to be understood. Sometimes things come out of my mouth before my brain cuts in, and in those cases, I hope my Boston accent makes me unclear.

    Never works with my wife though, she can ALWAYS hear and understand me!

    I feel a trip to Boston China Town for lunch coming soon……

    Have a great weekend everyone!

  5. Claudia says:

    It is my favorite accent in the entire country! And then, my favorite in the entire world is Italian….ahh…my people.

Leave a Reply

