Make Them Go Away

51807107

They’re everywhere.  I’ve seen them on the cover of every other magazine on the newsstand. 

The promos for “Access Hollywood,” “Extra,” “Entertainment Tonight,” and the shows of that ilk promise to report on every damn move they make and every breath they take.

And now I know their names.  Because on Friday night, Jon and Kate Gosselin invaded the newscast.  I didn’t have to read the story, so I stepped into my invisible cone of silence for the 18 seconds we invested in them.

Aside from their names, I know they have a reality show and eight kids.  That is all I know, and I don’t want to know more.  My usual advice to people like me is, “If you don’t like it, change the station.”  But how can you change the station when the TV’s not on and you still can’t escape?

Look at them.  They look normal, don’t they?  But they’re not.  They can’t be.  They’re “made for TV” celebrities. 

God, please give me Sam and Diane…Ward and June…Furillo and Davenport… Kip and Henry.

But make these people go away.  Please.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Cable Hell, Diatribes, It's all about me, People, TV Stuff and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Make Them Go Away

  1. Dan McCarthy says:

    I’m completely with you on this… what surprises me is that people actually care for some reason.

  2. Mel says:

    I just don’t her it either….My Grandmother had 12 kids. Which was common back in the 1920’s. I think these people need to turn the cameras off and get some serious family counseling.

  3. If this idiocy had been alive and well when I was a kid watching TV we would have had ” My 23 Sons. ” And who knows how many Little Joes, Little Jacks and Little Jakes Ben Cartwright would have had riding around on the Pondersosa?

    The theme song for Jon & Kate’s egregious show should be ” Call Me Irresponsible.”

    Pathetic.

  4. NurseChuck says:

    How to make $$$ by exploiting your kids…makes me vomit.

  5. Where is Sebastian Cabot when you need him?

    Hell, I’ll even take Will Robinson over those two!

  6. Graham says:

    That was 18 seconds wasted.

  7. Jean says:

    Its time they shut off the cameras and start living like a family. The kids are all spoiled brats they need to be discilplined. Kate needs to start acting like a mother and homemaker. Stop taking the kids to all these attractions where they disturb others keep them home and get them under control. Who cares if they pooped in the potty. All Kate did in the 100th episode was stand around and talk. Is she to good to cook and take care of the kids? Let get them off of our televisions and some normalcy into their lives.

Leave a Reply

