Holy Roller

It’s always interesting to see how long that “vacation glow” will last after you get home.  Mine was run off the road on the way to work.

A tractor-trailer cut in front of me, leaving just enough to room for me to live to tell.  Regaining my bearing, I found myself confronted with a slogan on the back of the rig.

“IT IS NOT A CHOICE.  IT IS A CHILD.”

Huh? 

Ohhhhhhhhhh….I get it.

Look, as far as I’m concerned, your stand on abortion is yours, and I’m happy to respect your opinion. 

As I passed the truck (right middle finger safely tucked away), I saw that it was from Covenant Transport of Chattanooga, TN.  Covenant, on its web site, calls itself a faith-based carrier.  I don’t know exactly what that means, but I checked, and they haul more than bibles.

So here’s my takeaway on Covenant:  against abortion, but attempted vehicular manslaughter?  No problem!

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in It's all about me, Noticed and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Holy Roller

  1. Kathryn D. says:

    Gerry, I know what you mean. I travel I-91 back and forth M-F. It is unbelievable what drivers of both cars and trucks do. I also walk regularly and drivers do not even yield at a marked crosswalk -not seeming to care there is a State law that one must yield to pedestrians. I find myself using a myriad of most unladylike words at times. It is a good thing I am by myself. People who know me would be shocked. In addition, the hypocrisy in our society today is unreal as read on that truck!!! Anyway, I look forward to your blog daily. I love reading about your trips. I just wish you had brought back some of that warmth and sunshine with you from St. Martin. Tonight, I will listen for your usual Friday night announcement of your Sat. am tee-time and we shall see if Brad can pin point a sunny day on the links for you tomorrow and a day in the sun for the rest of us. After the news tonight, Leno should be great…Conan is on. We have not seen him in 14 weeks. June has much to look forward to…NBC30 in HD (the package/presentation that Andrew did is great), Conan at 11:35 and the Travelers Tournament. Let’s hope for better weather in June. I am glad you arrived safely to your destination after your unfortunate highway encounter. Thank you for reading and replying to my comments. I really appreciate it! 🙂

  2. Don Ennis says:

    Glad you’re ok. About the only thing worse than a bad driver in CT… is one down south. Rules of highway sanity apparently don’t apply south of the Mason Dixon line. And I grew up hearing nothing but bad things about Jersey drivers, so this came as a surprise.

  3. Gerry says:

    Kathryn, thank you for your kind words, and for reminding me to record Leno tonight.

    And Don, you know the restraint it took to keep that middle finger in place.

    • Don Ennis says:

      All it takes is a moment of weakness… I kept in mind that GM in Boston who told the cops “don’t you know who I am?” and that always gave me the moment of pause I needed not to become a headline.

      At least it did when I was employed! Love the blog, Gerry, keep it up. And the finger down.

Leave a Reply

