Gettin’ Nekkid

The Dearly Beloved and I spent a few dearly beloved days on St. Martin.  (The French side, as opposed to the Dutch side, St. Maarten).

We have been going there for many, many years enjoying a taste of Europe in the Caribbean.  Part of that taste is many days spent at Orient Bay, which has a long stretch of beach.  Clothing optional beach.  Trés francaise.

But with each passing year, I’ve noticed that fewer people opt to go fully au naturel. 

I blame digital cameras and the internet. 

You can be trying to get that all-over tan one minute, and be on display on some web site the next, thanks to some camera-toting lout who just doesn’t get it.  (Full disclosure:  for the first time ever, I took a few pics when no one was around, then put the camera in the car.)

Too bad.  Whether you wear a bathing suit, part of a bathing suit, or no bathing suit at all, once you acclimate yourself to the fact you’re not at Misquamicut, it’s not a salacious experience in the least.  Everyone should try it at least once.

You know you want to.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Digital World, Noticed, Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Gettin’ Nekkid

  1. Dan McCarthy says:

    No, I don’t. Trust me. Not only am I in any physical shape to be seen like that, but just one look at my last name should tell you that sunshine and myself just don’t mix well!

  2. Gerry says:

    Understand the heritage part of your argument…but otherwise, if you saw some of the folks who take it all off, you’d feel much, much better about yourself.

  3. I just can’t get Dan Rather dressed up like an Afghan off my mind. Now this. What an image. A naked anchorman. Of course, it’s been done, and being done on Naked News ( Is that still on? ) Maybe that’s your next career step?

    And Dan. I have the same last name, but I have a confession: I have Moonstone experience, if ya know what I mean. And back in the 70s, my wife and I used to go au natural up in Wellfleet and Truro. Those days are over. And I see a dermatologist once a year to get checked out. Even in places where the sun don’t shine anymore.

  4. Gerry says:

    If I conjured up an image, go wash your brain out with soap.

    Those days are over for me too. I’m just lamenting why they’re ending for some people well before their time.

    Next career step: windows. Gotta be the tilt-outs, though.

  5. Jerry says:

    Ahh yes, Moonstone. I remember it well. Is it still open, or did they finally turn it into a nature sanctuary? It seemed pretty natural to me at the time.

  6. Moonstone’s clothed, er, closed. Used to be a pleasant option, then the demographic turned weird. Very weird. We had a vacation home near there. Federal government took that stretch of beach over. Ostensibly because of piping plovers, a threatened species. But jay birds and creeps with binoculars probably played a large role.

  7. The last thing our world needs is Marshall nude on a beach.

    Wars have started over less…

    People have jumped off bridges for less…

    Two of my wives left me for just being nude in the bedroom..

    This is not something that everyone should try

    Trust me…

  8. Gerry says:

    OK, I admit it. I posted this to see what kind of comments I’d get. And thank you all for being so entertaining. (But you really should try it once.)

  9. Jerry says:

    And if you do, apply plenty of lotion on those areas where the sun usually doesn’t shine.

Leave a Reply

