Katrina And The Waves

A few years ago, I made a beach music CD for one of our trips, which, of course, had to include “Walking on Sunshine” by Katrina and The Waves.

Listening to the song Wednesday as we were returning our rental car, these lyrics hit me. 

Now everytime I go for the mailbox , gotta hold myself down
Cos I just wait till you write me your coming around

First, let’s make believe that in the 24 years since the song became a hit that the writer has learned spelling, grammar and punctuation.  Or we leave it at “poetic license.”  (Come to think of it, it may be a bad idea to read lyrics.  Maybe we should just listen and enjoy.)

But what really struck me was the thought of Katrina actually running to her mailbox looking for a letter from the guy who makes her walk on sunshine.  Or the girl. 

Twenty-four years later, it seems so quaint.  So dated.  But it’s still a damn fine summer song from a damn fine one hit wonder.  So here you go. 

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Living in the Past, Noticed, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Katrina And The Waves

  1. Always liked that song, but talking about writing out lyrics….Steve Allen used to do the funniest skit when he would read Elvis’s “Hound Dog” as if it were poetry.

    Try it….

    You ain’t nothing but a hound, rockin all the time…

    You ain’t nothing but a hound dog, and you ain’t no friend of mine…

  2. Katrina and the Waves? Twenty years ahead of the curve. I’ll bet they’re big in the Big Easy these days.

  3. Gerry says:

    Marsh…I could never do Steve Allen justice.
    Ter…you’re a bad, bad boy.

  4. Dan McCarthy says:

    I can see how some may be annoyed by that song but to me it never gets old.

  5. Gerry says:

    I just think it’s a very happy, energizing song. And what’s wrong with that?

  6. Bill in Wallingford says:

    That’s one of my favorite songs! Direct link at http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iPUmE-tne5U

  7. Gerry says:

    Thanks Bill! I didn’t realize that youtube post didn’t work.

Leave a Reply

