Great Expectations

“How did you like “Slumdog Millionaire?”

“I thought it was OK.”

And with that reply, Ms. Keisha Grant looked at me as if I had two heads with four different colored eyes.

How could I not love, love, love the darling of the Academy that won eight Oscars?  

Great expectations.  Probably unreasonable expectations.  After reading all about it, hearing everyone gush about it, and watching the non-stop parade to accept all those Oscars, I just expected too much when I finally saw it a couple of weeks ago.

And then to discover that “Jai Ho” was a production number after the film ended, well… 

Bardem and Hall

Bardem and Hall

This weekend, the Dearly Beloved and I watched Woody Allen’s Vicky Cristina Barcelona.”  It had a leg up immediately, because we’re suckers for movies that feature places we’ve been.  The postcard cinematography of the city and and Gaudi architecture made us wish we were there.  (Though Sunday’s early March weather was a contributor.)

I reminded the DB that this was the picture for which Penélope Cruz won the best supporting actress Oscar, and also featured Scarlett Johansson and Javier Bardem (“…you remember, the crazy dude from ‘No Country For Old Men.’  Oh yeah, right.”) 

So as it turned out, we really liked the performance of  Rebecca Hall (Vicky), an actress we had never heard of.  

Sometimes it’s better to have no expectations.  They’re so easily exceeded.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in It's all about me, Media, People and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Great Expectations

  1. Don’tknow who said it, or exactly what he was referring to, but going into some things ( movies included ) is best done ” without memory or desire. “

  2. Gerry says:

    I’m sorry, what did you say?

  3. You have to take that thing out of your ear when you blog.

Leave a Reply

