It’s About Time

I was thinking (which I try not to do too strenuously) that we don’t care about our astronauts the way we used to, when I noticed that character actor Frank Aletter died.

I know what you’re thinking…what does one have to do with the other?  And who was Frank Aletter?  Hey, thanks for asking.

Mullaney and Aletter

Mullaney and Aletter

While we have astronauts doing wondrous things in space right now, Aletter played one on a 1966 sitcom called “It’s About Time.”  Aletter and Jack Mullaney headed an all-star cast of no-stars, a group of character actors whose faces everyone knew and whose names few knew. (Except, perhaps, for Imogene Coca, a great performer with an even greater name.)

It was a time when astronauts were heroes, and we knew all their names.  And they made movies and TV shows about them.  Don’t forget, Larry Hagman was Major Nelson before he was J.R. Ewing. 

And as we recently discussed, it was a time of fabulous TV themes.  “It’s About Time” had one of the best.  After all, it was from Sherwood Schwartz, the man who gave us “Gilligan’s Island” and its theme.   Give a listen.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Living in the Past, Media, Noticed, People and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to It’s About Time

  1. Gerry:

    On air the other day I was commenting on the fact that most people in the media were talking about how dangerous this latest mission was…I said the as far as I was concerned, every time they blast off its a dangerous, life threatening mission. These astronauts are incredibly brave and dedicated people.

    There is no mission that is not dangerous!

    In todays society, I am afraid, that soldiers, astronauts, police, fire, etc. are taken for granted.

    Tom Hanks HBO special from Earth To The Moon should be required watching.

  2. Gerry says:

    You sir, are absolutely correct.

  3. joan says:

    I’m sure it won’t surprise you that I can sing the theme song from It’s About Time…Imogene Coca was hilarious in that show. Thanks for the fond reminder!

  4. Gerry says:

    You can’t be that old. You must have seen reruns a few years later.

  5. just joan says:

    I wish! Younger than you, but the big 50 looms this year so honest, I saw the show in its only delightful season.

Leave a Reply

