BriWi HiFi

You watch “NBC Nightly News,” and America’s Anchorman comes off as the straightest, whitest man on earth.

Newark Star-Ledger

Newark Star-Ledger

Dr. Jekyll, meet Mr. Hyde.

If you’re a Brian Williams fan, here’s a good look at the man behind the news mask from the Newark Star-Ledger.

And if this bit of reporting piques your interest…

He and his wife are die-hard Springsteen fans (“That’s when I knew we were compatible”), but his taste in music goes way beyond the Jersey Shore. His iPod has more than 6,000 songs and he’s known to be at the computer on Mondays at midnight, when the new music hits the iTunes store.

…then get a load of this:  BriTunes on msnbc.com.

Cool.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Digital World, People, TV Stuff and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to BriWi HiFi

  1. I agree. Way cool. And genuinely funny. His appearances on Imus’s old show on WFAN were gems. Jack Benny like timing. True wit. Class act. And a real journalist to boot. His work on Katrina stands out.

  2. Frau Friday says:

    Jerry, your insite, your humor, your with-it ethic and pathos are right on. Your horrible blue T-shirt is not. I am a huge fan…

  3. Dan McCarthy says:

    He was an excellent SNL host, so this isn’t really surprising.

  4. I like this new thing with Gerry’s blog: Accepting comments only from guys with the last name McCarthy.

    You have any relations in western Massachusetts or Fall River, Dan?

    ( Next sound you hear: Gerry slapping his forehead, as he mutters: ” Great. My blog’s turning into a chat room for Micks working on their geneology charts )

  5. Gerry says:

    McCarthys are more than welcome…I’ll pour the black & tans.

    Frau, on the other hand, may need to be taken out back for an “attitude adjustment.”

  6. Well, she’s not a McCarthy. Another name. Thank God it’s Friday.

    ( Commenter is dragged off stage again. Another shot rings out and a voice – a German accent? – is heard screaming: ” Take THAT swine breath!! ” )

  7. Gerry says:

    Adding to the intrigue: she’s a he. Long story… but he doesn’t answer to L-O-L-A Lola.

  8. In other words, not that Kinky

  9. Can a guy named Miles get a word in here?!

    He better not interview the Osmond’s on BriTunes!

    I might have to switch to Charlie Gibson.

  10. Gerry says:

    Marsh…I have a feeling that’s not gonna happen.

    Terry…all depends on your definition of kinky.

  11. I think I’m in I’m not gonna go there mode. But speaking of the Kinks Lola. I can remember the first time I heard it. I was in my barracks room at RAF Chicksands. An hour north of London. I frequented some London clubs. Le Kilt in Soho comes to mind. Dark,cavernous places where all was not as it seemed sometimes. I laughed out loud when I heard how the tune ended. There but for the Grace ( or Lola ) of God went I, I thought.

    The Kinks. What a great band. And Ray’s a fine actor as well.

  12. Dan McCarthy says:

    Nope… no relatives in MA that I know of. It’s funny, I have 4 other McCarthys on my Facebook list but I’m not related to any of em!

Leave a Reply

