I Am Cape Cod

CapeCodAerial1I am a flexed arm of land you love, and you need me more than I need you. 

It’s 70 degrees and mostly sunny in Hartford?  By the time you get to my bridges, I’ll greet you with 57 and fog.  Don’t like it?  Too bad.  Turn around.  Go home. 

But you won’t.  You want me.  You know you’ll feel better as soon as you come over to the other side.

But I’ll still make you work.  When you first met me, I welcomed you with what little I had.  Clam shacks in the summer, HoJo’s in the winter (because everyone else was closed for the season). 

Now I’m open for business year round.  I’ve got a big mall, I’ve got all your chain and big box stores.  If that’s why you’re here, please spend your money before you realize you’re here for the wrong reasons.

And if you walk one of my beaches with an iPod filling your head with noise, know that you’ll be missing the greatest symphony known to humankind:  the sound of water meeting sandy land, mixed with the resonance of whatever breeze I offer at any given moment.  You will never hear a more beautiful sound.

Now I’m getting ready for the influx.  I’ll be welcoming back thousands of old friends.  But I’m most looking forward to the first-timers.  The little ones who get their first taste of a fried clam.  Crack open their first lobster claw.  Get knocked over for the first time by a wave.  Sleep in a bed that’s not their own for the very first time. 

They’ll love me.  They’ll need me.  And I’ll have them.  For life.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Noticed, Travel and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to I Am Cape Cod

  1. Dan McCarthy says:

    I’ve lived in CT all my life but I’d never been to Cape Cod until last year, when I had an almost brand-new rental car and a day off from work and decided to make a day trip out of it. I stayed off interstates entirely (well, except for that stretch of Rt 6 cosigned with I-95 in RI), which was real interesting when I got into New Bedford and realized it was all one-way streets. Anyway, I finally made it to the Cape and drove as far as Eastham before I finally got tired of the monotonous Super-2 highway that 6 becomes. I hung around for a couple hours and snapped some shots of the Nauset lighthouse before coming home (this time using interstates!). I’d definitely like to explore the area more when I get the chance, though.

  2. joenesgarden says:

    I’m there, any opportunity. The Cape is intertwined in my psyche in a way no other place is.

    Dan, if that is all you did, then you definitely need to explore … dunes you can get lost in, expanses of ocean that smell like no other, salt bays in which to wade, salt breezes to breath in … if it not for work, I’d be on my way tomorrow morn.

  3. Gerry says:

    Gotta get off 6, Dan. So much to stumble into and enjoy.

  4. Dan McCarthy says:

    I tried taking 28 for a while but there was a bridge out on it…

  5. Graham says:

    Gerry,
    Spoken like a TRUE Cape Codder! We just came back this morning. Survived the Saturday fog, and rain. Rode part of the Rail Trail yesterday, and finished the day with beer and “Steamers”.
    What a great weekend.
    Can’t wait for the sand and sea to warm up.
    See you all at the beach!!

  6. Gerry says:

    Just got back too, Graham. A delightful weekend.

  7. #2 says:

    trendy beach hat

  8. Hope you get to spend at least another week there this summer. Last time I was there was p-Town late July last year. Great memories of that land’s end place. Ran into Dustin Hoffman on Commercial Street one night. Struck up a conversation with Norman Mailer off Bradford Street a few years ago. My wife spotted Spalding Gray before he leapt off that ferry.

    The Cape. No place on Earth like it.

  9. Gerry says:

    Much of my family is on the Cape. We’ll make a run up to P-Town in August when friends visit. It’s one of the highlights of summer.

  10. Stacey says:

    So much of my childhood and most favorite memories are intertwined with the Cape. Just the word “Cape” brings me instantly to my happy place 🙂

    sunsets at Rock Harbor
    ice cream at Emack and Bolios
    a round of miniature golf at Pirate’s Cove
    driving through the dunes at Nauset to get to the Outer Beach
    biking on the rail trail
    the beauty of Chatham
    the decor at Land HO!
    Cape Cod League baseball games
    the Herring Run
    that first rotary off the bridge that welcomes you to the Cape and makes you relax because you are here now.

    Love it.
    Thanks so much for this blog!

  11. Anne says:

    Gerry-
    Thanks for that ode to the Cape. We went as kids when Eastham just had that little tiny superette, and stayed in a cottage across the street from the old school on Old Schoolhouse Road. Now, every year, my husband and I can’t wait to go back and reminisce about the time we stayed through Hurricane Bob with the kids, walk the Audobon trail all the way to Welfleet marsh, take a great read to Nauset Beach and inhale the salt air, and let the sound of the waves crashing heal everything. But the best thing I ever did was bring my husband there for his first time early in our marriage. I had to plant that incurable seed in his soul, so we will always have to go back!

  12. Gerry says:

    Stacey and Anne…thank you for your contributions, too!

Leave a Reply

