Mixed Emotions

Two stories about smoking hit home for this former smoker.

Jerry Remy

Jerry Remy

Jerry Remy is taking a leave of absence from the Red Sox broadcast booth.  It turns out Remy (my age and another former smoker) had surgery for lung cancer late last year.  He says he developed complications, and returned to work too soon.

RemDawg promises to return, and we can only hope that he does.  It couldn’t be easy for him to make this announcement, and if you read this in-depth piece on him from a recent Sunday Globe Magazine, you can understand why.

It’s stating the obvious that the Remy story makes me glad I quit smoking.  But behind that simple statement are reasons that are complex and personal. 

The truth is, I don’t know anyone who quit smoking because they actually wanted to.   It’s called an “addiction” for a reason.  That’s why I don’t…can’t…lecture those who still light up. 

So when I see a story that more and more public golf courses are trying to take the cigars out of some golfers’ mouths, I can’t help but think, “Hey, leave ’em alone.”  It’s their simple pleasure, they’re outdoors, and they’re consenting adults.  (Though I do wish they didn’t leave their ashes on the greens.)

Mixed emotions indeed.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Health, It's all about me, People, Sports and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Mixed Emotions

  1. Who took that picture, Hunter S. Thompson?

  2. Gerry says:

    Kind of a neo-Godfather wannabe thing…

  3. The problem with smoking cigars at the golf course is you have to put it down somewhere! All those pesticides on top of tobacco….WOW!

  4. Graham says:

    Having always been a non-smoker, I will not lecture anyone who smokes, however I know that the habit can be kicked even by the most addicted. When my father retired at about 65 years old, he had been smoking for over 40 years and was a 2+ pack a day man.
    He looked at his budget at retirement and realized he could no longer afford to smoke, so when the carton he was using was gone, he put finished the last cigarette and never smoked again.
    Now there was will power. He replaced the smokes with oranges and apples and dropped a few pounds too.
    I was always impressed by his commitment.

  5. joenesgarden says:

    Fantastic article in the Globe … thanks for the link. I miss Remy’s voice/on-air personality, and wish him well.

    Can’t speak to cigars on a golf course, since I leave the golfing to my boys, but I can add this: being hit with smoke – either cigarette or cigar – removes my “simple pleasure” as much as it adds to the smoker’s. If this occurs inside, I can choose to leave the premises. When it occurs outside – in front of a public doorway or in line for a public event, for example – who’s “simple pleasure” wins out, the smoker’s or the non-smoker’s? In such cases I usually choose to leave the area so I don’t smell like smoke for hours on end … but why should non-smokers have to inconvience themselves to this point to accomodate someone else’s addiction?

  6. Gerry says:

    joenesgarden…excellent points well taken. For some reason, it doesn’t bother me, especially outdoors, so I appreciate your viewpoint.

    And Graham, that is some willpower. I quit smoking for health, but I always have a few extra bucks in my pocket these days.

Leave a Reply

