Demolition Man

If you need something blown up, I’ve got your man.

Not for the first time, I had a message on my work voicemail from someone looking for a job at Universal Studios in L.A.  (NBC30 is owned by NBC Universal.)  

This time, it was from “Ed Power from Local 44.”  His message said he was a dependable veteran of the industry who knew his stuff and wouldn’t let me down.  He admitted he was desperate for work. 

Ed left his number, so I called him back just to let him know he had the wrong Gerry Brooks.  Or Jerry Brooks.  Or Gerald Brooks.  Or Jerome Brooks. 

“Hi Ed, it’s Gerry Brooks.”

“Gerry!  Thanks for calling back!  Listen, I’ve got 32 years in the business, I’m…”

“Ed, this isn’t the Gerry Brooks you think it is.  I’m calling you from a TV station in Connecticut.”

“What are ya doin’ there?”

“Ed, I work here.  You called a guy in Connecticut who works for NBC Universal.  There must be another Gerry Brooks in the directory.”

“Darn!  Hey, you need anything blown up?”

“Well, maybe.  What is it you do?”

“I’m a pyro and special effects guy.  Best in the business.  Really.”

“Ed, I’m tempted, but I’ll pass.  I’ll save your number, though.”

Nice guy.  I hope Ed finds a job.  And if you need anything blown up…

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in It's all about me, People and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Demolition Man

  1. You’re not that Gerry Brooks!?!

  2. Gerry says:

    I could be. Need something blown up? Could be fun.

  3. hendu says:

    I think we could use his expertise in a few months with our old building

  4. Gerry, please pass the number along to me…I have a few MSNBC, FOX and CNN hosts I could use Ed’s services on!

  5. Cathy says:

    Wow! 2 Gerry Brooks? Who would have known.

  6. Gerry says:

    Scary, isn’t it Cath?
    Marsh, tempting, but I can’t be an accomplice.
    And Hendu, really, shouldn’t we just grab sledgehammers and swing ’em for our own satisfaction?

Leave a Reply

