A Sad Life

Or so it would seem. 

One of the many things I enjoy about blogging is that, unlike reporting, I can make assumptions.  And I’m assuming Gary Gaudet had a sad life.

Gary Gaudet

Gary Gaudet

Crimes and the criminals who commit them mostly come and go in bulk, but Gary Gaudet of East Hartford was different.  He just couldn’t seem to get it right. 

We first reported on him last October, when he fell asleep on the job.  He was trying to steal a catalytic converter. 

His career came to an untimely end this week, when the minivan he was trying to relieve of its catalytic converter slipped off the jack, and crushed him.

I fixated on his mug shot when I saw it, and decided he’d had a sad life.  I hope his next one, if there is such a thing, is better.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in News, Noticed, People and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Sad Life

  1. Lots of material there for dark humor. Kudos for not going there.

  2. Gerry says:

    And you know how dark newsroom humor can be. It was his mug shot that really made me think.

  3. t bone says:

    there is no next life…this is it…one chance to get it right…
    some do, some don’t

  4. Terri says:

    I am a firm believer in Karma..what goes around WILL come around at some point…his came around

  5. sinde says:

    I agree with you Gerry. The sadness shows in his face. Hopefully there is no need for a converter in his new life.

  6. a family member says:

    he did have a hard life, and it’s too bad so many people want to make his death even harder on those who cared about him.

Leave a Reply

