A Better Deal

Where is everybody?
Where is everybody?

A month into the season, it has finally dawned on the New York Yankees that $2,500 is a bit much to ask for a “premium” seat to a baseball game.  So they’ve slashed the price in half.  $1,250.  Such a deal.  I’m sure that’ll put a bunch of premium tushes in the seats. 

But I’ve got a better deal.  Come to my place and watch the game with me.  Just the two of us.  (Three if the Dearly Beloved is home and has interest, which is highly unlikely.)

For just $1,000, you will get the best, most comfortable chair in the house.  Double-wide with a hassock.  True premium seating.  I will also personally serve you hot and cold hors d’ouvres and top shelf beverages.  That’s a $250 savings over schlepping to the stadium, and if you can’t drive home, I’ll call you a cab!

Too pricey?  For $750, you still get that chair, and I will set out a nice variety of premium munch (mixed nuts, Cape Cod chips, etc.) and a cooler filled with bottles of the premium beer (domestic or imported) of your choice.  

And for $500,  you get a superior-quality well-padded straight-backed chair.  I will set up a tray table for you, and supply freshly-popped microwave popcorn and cold cans of Bud.

In all cases, we’ll watch the game, talk baseball, and I’ll make believe we’re old buddies. 

Hey, the 401k isn’t what it used to be.  Times are tough, and creative people have to do creative things.  Call me.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Noticed, Sports and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to A Better Deal

  1. Great idea. I know someone who knows someone at Home Depot. Your driveway’s going to have to get bigger. You’ll have to do the work yourself, but they can help.

    Those charter buses are big. Are your neighbors on the same page with you re this?

    And what’s on the menu re concessions? Hotdogs, burgers, beer just don’t cut it anymore.

  2. Gerry says:

    One game; one person. THAT is premium service. 162 game season, you can make a nice buck.

  3. Hell $2,500 used to buy me, back in the 80’s, four years of GIANTS tickets(that’s two tickets per game), (including pre season at Giants Stadium…plus a hot dog and beer at each game!

  4. hendu says:

    Sounds good. Is there a discount thru work???

  5. Graham says:

    I thought Bud was a premium beer!

  6. Gerry says:

    Marshall, as it still should be…
    Graham, it is when it’s ice cold on a hot day…
    and Hendu, colleagues add a 15% premium to the price.

  7. TonyC says:

    So let me get this straight… you’ll give me a thousand bucks AND let me sit on your throne (the double-wide) AND serve me fine beverages and all I have to do is watch the Yankees? But isn’t watching the Yankees with you a near-death experience?

  8. Gerry says:

    No, no Tony. Re-read.

  9. TonyC says:

    My favorite part: “I’ll make believe we’re old buddies.”

  10. Gerry says:

    I can fake it with the best of ’em.

Leave a Reply

