Getting Kinkly With The Courant

Hello!!!!!  Is anyone home? 

scan0001

BUT WAIT, THERE’S MORE!!!  (updated Monday, 4/27)

Monday’s page one story (Sheff vs. O’Neill) is written by Jodie Mozdzer (jmozdzer@courant.com).   The page two story (UConn spring weekend) is written by Jodie Mozder (jmozder@courant.com).  

I don’t know the Jodies, but I suspect there’s only one.  I know, nitpicky.  But this is another sign that attention to detail is being overlooked.  And if you can’t get the names of your own people right…

Sincerely, Jerry Brookes

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Diatribes, Media, Noticed. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Getting Kinkly With The Courant

  1. What do you expect? They laid off all their copy editors. Sid, the janitor, is now proofreading headlines. Cut Sid some slack. He was only one letter off.

  2. Gerry says:

    I’m sorry. (Said in the Ruprecht voice Steve Martin used in “Dirty Rotten Scoundrels.”)

  3. hendu says:

    Well maybe they meant it to be a play on KINKY???? Who knows how those print journalists think. Isn’t Brinkley, like you know, old?????

  4. joan says:

    Sad, sad, sad.

  5. Rick T says:

    Happins all the time! Usage errors, too, not just typos. Used to be almost unheard of, but now it’s pretty commonplace. Say, don’t newfangled computers have Spel Chek these days??

  6. Mike says:

    He MEANT to say that…

  7. Jerry says:

    Not surprised, see it everyday. Don’t the papers hire english majors anymore? Or maybe have a real person proof read an article instead of Spel Chek. Several words come to mind that can be spelled different ways, but mean something else. But come on, rekinkles?

  8. Geoff says:

    I wouldn’t throw too many stones – Friday evening, the NBC-30 news team at least twice said that Enders state forest was in EAST Granby, instead of West Granby.

  9. Gerry says:

    I do always warn about living in “glass houses,” Geoff. Brad cleared up the East-West Granby thing for us. But that is what we call “hyper-local.” You’d have to live in Granby to know and care, not that it excuses the error. It doesn’t matter where you live to pick up on the Courant’s gaffe.

  10. Jerry says:

    There’s an East &West Granby?

  11. Gerry says:

    I knew East Granby. Now I know West. Live and learn.

  12. Dave Owens says:

    Come on Gerry. The Courant still produces plenty of news that Channel 30 finds worthy of ripping off each day. I’ve had you read my stories to me on several occasions.

    If you had to attribute everything that you pull from The Courant to The Courant, you’d being saying Courant an awful lot in your newscasts. (Perhaps as many times as I used it in that one sentence.)

    We’re not perfect at The Courant. But we try awfully hard. There are a lot fewer of us than there used to be. And despite our failings that you have highlighted, the good folks at Channel 30 sure don’t seem shy about using our work and presenting it as their own.

    All the best,
    Dave Owens

  13. Gerry says:

    Dave, I love you guys, and I want the Courant to succeed. A newspaper represents its city in a way that no television station can, and I hate to see a name misspelled or a headline not proofread in the standard bearer of local news media.

    And Dave, make no mistake. Television and radio news staffs have long relied on the Courant (adapt to any city and its major paper) to fill their news holes. I have to laugh at people who say they don’t read the paper because they get their news from the internet. Apparently, they give no thought to where the internet is getting all that material.

    Dave, as a fan of the Courant, and a paying customer of the Courant, I hope management sees posts like this and wonders if the cutbacks have gone so far that quality is compromised. A pipe dream for sure, but it can’t hurt the cause. We all need to have a vested interest in our local newspaper(s), and this, however perverse, is my small contribution.

    Finally, Dave, I hope (for both our sakes) I continue to read your stories back to you for a long time to come.

    Thanks for writing…GB

  14. Dave Owens says:

    Gerry:

    I’m a fan of Channel 30. I watch you guys every day and
    night. I, of course, watch my brothers and sisters at Channel 61 too.

    We’re a big, slow-moving target. So I felt the need to respond.

    Thank you for your gracious response.

    All the best,

    Dave Owens

  15. Gerry says:

    Dave, understood and appreciated. We’ll have to have an adult beverage someday. Commiseration loves company.

Leave a Reply

