Time Stood Still

Or so it seemed when I watched Broadcast News” for the first time since its 1987 release. 

The William Hurt/HollyHunter/Albert Brooks film holds up terrifyingly well.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

From IMDb’s memorable quotes:

Bill Rorich: This is a brutal layoff. And all because they couldn’t program Wednesday nights.
Paul Moore: You can make it less brutal by knocking a million or so off your salary… Bad joke, I’m sorry.

[after Paul fires one of his workers]
Paul Moore: Now, if there’s anything I can do for you…
Employee: Well, I certainly hope you’ll die soon.

Aaron Altman: [at the television] A lot of alliteration from anxious anchors placed in powerful posts!

Paul Moore: It must be nice to always believe you know better, to always think you’re the smartest person in the room.
Jane Craig: No. It’s awful.

I, of course, will assume the role of Jane Craig in that last scene.

more about “Hulu – Broadcast News: Moral Dilemma“, posted with vodpod
About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Media, Noticed, TV Stuff and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Time Stood Still

  1. This is starting to sound like Waiting for Godot. Where ‘s that pub in Ireland? Maybe we should carry on there sometime soon.

    Terrence: Well, Shall we go?
    Gerry: Yes, let’s go

    They do not move.

    I know.I know. I should stick to JOSH Beckett.

  2. Gerry says:

    The Inch Peninsula. We shall go.

Leave a Reply

