You’re A Mistake

Oh how delightful it must be to hear your boss say those words.  Not your immediate supervisor, or the manager above her/him, or the manager above her/him.  No, no.  Go all the way to the top.  The chairman and chief executive officer. 

That, in essence, is what employees of the Hartford Courant heard this week.  From the top.

This is a really bad time for all of us who work for advertising-supported media.  We report it, and we live what we report.  There is no escape.

But when the Big Guy calls buying the institution you work for a “mistake,” that’s gotta (and I know I promised I wouldn’t use this word) suck.  Huge.  Continuing condolences to the bloodied survivors on Broad Street.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Media, News, People and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to You’re A Mistake

  1. Geoff Fox says:

    I think Sam Zell said he’d made a mistake. Is this something else?

  2. Gerry says:

    Nope. But I wasn’t really crystal clear on that, so I made a couple of edits. Thanks, Geoff.

  3. Gerry, I agree…

    It could have been said with a little more grace!

    Lets say I am sitting home watching the evening news…
    My wife of about a year and a half comes on TV and says….

    I made a mistake marrying Marshall….he is kind of like a live virus…..

    I do think I would take offense…and feel a bit more uncomfortanle!

    (And I have been married two times! SO I know from where I speak!)

Leave a Reply

