L’Hiver Est Finis

Winter is finished.  And the thought of spring makes me want to rattle on en francaise.  If only I’d paid more attention in French class.

On the Brooks calendar, March 31st is the last day of winter.  March, to me, represents the end of gray (skies) and brown (mud).   No more scraping sound of the plow.

pansy2April is full of the yellow of pansies and the pink of cherry blossoms.  (Uh oh, I believe my feminine side is taking over.)   

 ***MAJOR ADMISSION:  I really like pansies.  The Dearly Beloved just planted some around the mailbox.  I think I started really liking pansies in the first grade at Saxonville School, when Miss Lareau (more French!) would put a Dennison sticker of pansies on a drawing that she liked.  That meant pansies represented something good.  Miss Lareau died not all that long ago at the age of 147.  And did you know Dennison stickers used to be made in Framingham?  G.M. used to have a plant there too.  Damn, times change.  And double damn, I’m digressing from my digression.  Excusez moi, I need a shot of testosterone.*** 

 (Ahhh…feeling much manlier.  We now return to our regularly scheduled post.)

And as if on cue, the last little patch of snow in my yard…huddled in a spot that never sees the sun…finally disappeared Tuesday.  

Avril joyeux!

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in It's all about me, Weather. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to L’Hiver Est Finis

  1. Cathy says:

    Your Teacher at 147 beat my teacher Mrs.Stevenson by 20 years…{not being mean but I did chuckle out loud on that line}

    As for liking pansies..theres nothing wrong with that.We all need a little color in our lives, and if it comes from a flower,so be it. Happy Spring!

  2. hendu says:

    Your shots of testosterone didn’t come from your Dominican cousin did it?

  3. Gerry says:

    Yuri??? Is that you, Yuri???

  4. WENDY says:

    Ah, oui! C’est printemps, alors! Voila! I love pansies, too. When I lived in Framingham Centre, Dad worked for Dennison, got sent to Chicago for a couple of years, and then came back to MA to continue working for THE sticker factory and maker of all things crepe papier.

    Those WERE the days!

  5. Gerry says:

    Weren’t they, though? And don’t forget the matinees at the St. George or Gorman Theatres downtown.

  6. Geno says:

    Being from East Hartford, I have always admired Framingham as the home of Ken’s Steak House. Now that’s a landmark even a pansy could love.

  7. Gerry says:

    Believe it or not, we never ate there. (Had the salad dressing, of course). My father put the plumbing in at a competing restaurant on Route-9, so we always ate there.

  8. Geno says:

    I have great respect for loyalty.

Leave a Reply

