Oh No, Not Brenda!

164You know things are really bad in the newspaper business when Brenda Starr gets laid off.

As it turns out, the comic strip is written by a columnist for the Chicago Tribune, who knows of such things.

By the way, Brenda is 69, and she looks fabulous.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Media, Noticed and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Oh No, Not Brenda!

  1. Brenda does look marvelous ( Is she related to cable newswoman Barbara Starr? ) Laid off? I hope she’s been blogging. As a former newspaper guy myself, I know having a blog can make one at least feel like he/she’s still in the business.

    Just found your blog, and will check in regularly. Still recall fondly ( and still write about it occasionally ) the time you visited my office and did a Brooks File on my ” Live Well Or Die ” Connecticut license plate idea. I was creative director for an ad agency on Allyn Street. We were vying for the CT tourism account. John Carson ( Not that one ) was Economic Development Commish. It was his call as to which shop would get the account. After you left our office you went to his. Asked him what he thought of my bright idea.

    ” Not much, ” was his response. The guys with their names on the door of the agency felt the same way. I quit before they had a chance to fire me.

    Nice job with the blog, Gerry

  2. Gerry says:

    I do remember. Vividly. Thanks for checking in. This blog serves mostly as my daily therapy. I’ve been checking out The Web Town Observer for some time. It’s one of the blogs (including Mr. McEnroe’s) that I’d read to figure out how to do this thing.

Leave a Reply

