Like Where, Idaho?

I’m really not that nitpicky (OK, yes I am), but it’s been driving me crazy for a long time.  The electronic billboard message for the UConn School of Business MBA programs. 

The same message is on the school’s web site.

mba-header

If they’re talking about going to work somewhere far away from Connecticut, good for them.

But I suspect they’re talking about taking one’s career further, as in “up the corporate ladder.”

Maybe they should have touched base with some folks in the Neag School of Education.  I’ll bet they could have found a grammar expert or two there.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Diatribes, Noticed and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Like Where, Idaho?

  1. dick ahles says:

    Your unique perspective on grammatical purity once again prevails.

  2. dubymcd says:

    I’m no Rob Kyff (Hartford Courant wordsmith – hope they didn’t cut his column?) but the further/farther thing is frequently confused. And don’t get me started on imply/infer.
    I’m glad someone else spends some of life’s precious moments thinking about these things. And while I’m at it, could you please reprimand your next on-air colleague who says “Like I said earlier” instead of “as I said earlier”?

    Okay, on to my 5th cup of coffee and my next rant.

  3. Graham says:

    Just another axample of how no1 chex after thae tipe anymoer.
    Maybe it’s from that Tweeter thingimajig.

  4. Gerry says:

    Fortunately for me, I have worked for and with people (they know who they are) who saved me from myself more than once on matters of grammar and correct use of the language.

    Some of it actually rubbed off!

  5. Geno says:

    Now let’s see how long it takes them to change it. They are a state agency.

Leave a Reply

