What A Grand Day

Two things happened today that are so out of the norm, I feel I must share.

images2First, there was a delivery to our house, and it was for ME!  It’s not important what it was.  It could have been an empty box for all I cared.  But it was for ME!  So many deliveries come to the house, and they’re never for ME.  But obviously, this was my lucky day.

screwdriverSo I decided to press that luck, and do something that involved a tool.  A screwdriver, actually.  I know, sounds simple.  To you maybe, but there’s a reason I didn’t stretch three generations of plumbers into a fourth, OK?

THE Boss

THE Boss

I decided to assemble the outdoor patio fireplace that’s been sitting in a box in the garage since last fall.  This was my selection for a 15th anniversary gift from NBC Universal.  I would like to think NBCU megaboss Jeff Zucker has an outdoor patio fireplace too.  Really, everyone should have one, assuming you have an outdoors and a patio.

aaaaag9emraaaaaaatgbnwThere were twelve parts I was capable of screwing up, and speaking of which, any number of screws and nuts.  But I got it right on the first try!  ME!  This, unfortunately, is an event worth noting based on my sad history with tools.

The Dearly Beloved came out and cooed over my craftsmanship.  (I think I heard a snort as she went back inside.)  I stood there and admired my handiwork, as I always do when I complete a task without drawing blood.

It’s a tiny little life, but it’s mine.  And this was a good day.  A very good day.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in It's all about me, Toys. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to What A Grand Day

  1. Mark says:

    Gerry;

    Sometimes it’s the little things in life that make our days great!

  2. Dan McCarthy says:

    It’s posts like this that make me glad you have a blog. Thanks for the chuckle!

  3. Linda says:

    Gerry – you always find a way to make me smile!

    CONGRATULATIONS on a job well done. And I’m sure the Dearly Beloved was not snorting (ladies NEVER snort . . . ), she was expressing how deeply impressed she was with your tool prowess!

    Have a great day,

  4. Graham says:

    Being a “tool guy” always feels sooooooooooo good!

  5. jan says:

    gerry, there are 2 types of guys,one is a tool guy and the other is not. being married to a tool challanged guy i completely understand your victory! and dearly beloveds are easily impressed. think of the money you saved by doing it yourself! but don’t get carried away bask in your victory for a few months before you take on the next one.

  6. Emma says:

    So when are we all coming over to try out the fireplace? Smore’s for everyone!! ((smile))

  7. Gerry says:

    Thank you all. Graham and Jan, I’ve been called a tool, but never a tool guy. And Emma…you’re always welcome.

Leave a Reply

