One Of Those Guys

Cromwell

Cromwell

Over the weekend, I was telling a friend what a great job I thought James Cromwell did as George H.W. Bush in the film “W.”  

The name James Cromwell didn’t ring a bell, and I said, “Oh, he’s one of those guys you’d know if you saw him.” 

Ron Silver

Ron Silver

Ron Silver was one of those guys too. 

Silver died Sunday.  He was only 62. 

Silver was the kind of actor who made bad TV tolerable, and good TV great.  In the right role (“West Wing”), I thought he was the Pacino of the small screen.

Silver brought passion to his acting, and passion to his politics.  His career suffered this decade, not because of terminal cancer, but because of his startling about-face from outspoken liberal Democrat to staunch supporter of President Bush and the war in Iraq.    

When I IMDB‘d him, I was startled to discover the steadiest job he ever had was on the forgettable NBC sitcom “Veronica’s Closet.”   I inexplicably remember him for a one-shot on “Rhoda,” and for being part of one of “Wiseguy’s” better story arcs.

And we will all remember him for being “one of those guys.”

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Noticed, People, TV Stuff and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to One Of Those Guys

  1. Doug says:

    yeah he was good. it’s a shame.

    hey gerry what coastline is that behind you in your new masthead photo, if you don’t mind me asking?

  2. Gerry says:

    It was taken on St. Lucia, during a cruise last December. I’ll probably toy with the masthead pix, just because I’m so easily amused.

  3. I was sorry to hear about Silver as well. As for “W”, I thought it was TERRIBLE! Way to elementary. I tought it would be more telling and worth the $4.50 I paid to watch it on ON-DEMAND.
    To me, it seemed more like a bad Saturday Night Live episode. I want my money back.

  4. TonyC says:

    I first saw Silver in an unusual film, “Eat and Run,” where he was a judge in town where an outer-space alien lands and develops a taste for Italian food, well, Italian people. Fortunately, the roles — and there were a lot of them — all got better from there. RIP, Ron Silver.

  5. Gerry says:

    Dammit Shelly, won’t you ever say how you REALLY feel about things? (I read your blog, too.)

    And Tony, “unusual” sounds like a very nice way to put it.

  6. Peter N says:

    I always loved his acting ability. I was shocked. And Gerry, thank you for putting up my link, the only sports link there! Rare company indeed. Peter

  7. Dan McCarthy says:

    I haven’t seen “W” yet but I’d really like to as my friend Paul is “one of those guys” in the movie as well…

    Anyway, I, too was disappointed to hear about Ron Silver. He thoroughly creeped me out in “The Arrival”.

  8. Dan McCarthy says:

    PS- it’s nice to see I’m not the only one who respects character actors! They’re the ones who make movies interesting to watch, since they actually have to act instead of look pretty for the cameras! I always love the look on people’s faces when I say my favorite actors are Charles Hallahan and Stephen Root, because they have no clue who I’m talking about!

  9. joan says:

    Silver was fantastic as Bruno Gianelli in West Wing. He will be missed. Haven’t seen W, the real thing was more than enough!

Leave a Reply

