Reset

Another nice weekend went by entirely too quickly.   Too soon to play golf, but a perfect opportunity to wash winter off the cars (not that we’re assuming winter’s over), and get everything ready to put the patio furniture out.  (Not put it out, mind you.  Just get ready to put it out.  I am NOT jinxing spring, OK?)

And as we spruce up for spring, I thought this would be a good time to give the blog a new look as it approaches its second anniversary.

It’s been nearly two years since NBC30 news director (OK, Vice President, News) Mike St. Peter asked me to  contribute a blog to the web site.   What I thought might be a chore has turned into delightful daily therapy.  I’ve made some good cyber-friends along the way, whose opinions I’ve come to look forward to and respect.  You know who you are.

Recently, I’ve been posting the blog on Facebook, and a couple of syndicated venues.  For anyone new to this personal exercise, please know that it’s written, first and foremost,  for nbcconnecticut.com.   I’m grateful that Mike and NBC30 management have given me a great deal of leeway to write about whatever moves me on any given day.  That includes casting a critical eye at the company I work for.  But as a news anchor at an NBC-owned television station, there are boundaries.  There is a line that I try not to cross, though it seems to move day to day. 

So happy almost spring.   It’s time to spend less time at this keyboard, and more time outside these walls.  If you don’t like the different look, let me know.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Digital World, It's all about me and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Reset

  1. TonyC says:

    Well, the new look is OK but we do miss seeing that glass of ice tea at your side… and don’t worry about crossing boundaries… we love you because you’re already on the other side!

  2. MIke says:

    What Tony said. The photo makes you look like you’ve just had your head cut off!

    Keep up the good work; it’s a ray of sunlight in these early, gray mornings!

  3. Linda says:

    The new look is good – clear, crisp, uncluttered, easy to read. But it really isn’t the look – it’s the content that keeps me reading! I may have jinxed spring, though, Gerry – I put away the snow boots and ice scrapper yesterday. Happy almost second anniversary – looking forward to many more.

  4. Kathryn D. says:

    The new look is great! I really look forward to your posts. Congratulations on two years!

  5. jan says:

    gerry, a smaller picture means you have to fill the rest of the space with words and some of your best are the 1 line zingers!! that means more work for you,but means job security. congrats on 2 yrs.

  6. Dan McCarthy says:

    First facebook goes all changey on me, then The Brooks File? It’s all warping my fragile little mind!!!

  7. joan says:

    Does anyone who knows Gerry really think that was a glass of iced tea? I certainly hope it wasn’t! : )

  8. Gerry says:

    Mike, Linda, Katherine, thank you all for your kind words. Jan, those one-liners are still there under the title. (I was never sure anyone actually noticed.) Tony, if you believe it was iced tea, that’s fine (see: Joan). Dan, man up!

  9. LadyPatsFan says:

    The new look gets a thumbs up from me, Gerry. Glad to welcome Spring (soon, please!) with another breath of freshness.

Leave a Reply

