ON BEING THE BEARER OF BAD NEWS

It’s not fun.

untitledI just want you to know that.  There is no pleasure in going on the air every evening to remind you that you’re going broke.  That your neighbor just lost his job.  That your favorite restaurant just locked its doors for good.   That your car dealership no longer exists.

Nope, it’s not fun.  Not at all. 

And please know that I’m right there with you.  Every time I open my mouth and those sounds come out of it, I’m reminding myself we’re in the same boat.  

My wife and I work for companies that have been the gold standard of their industries.  Given the value of a share of each, we’d be at the drive-thru hoping to swing a value meal.   (Thank heaven,  things aren’t that bad.)

It would be so very easy to slip into a recession depression

But we won’t.  We can’t.  We will still laugh, we will adjust, and we will hope better days come sooner instead of much later.  I hope you can too.    

And then, there’s this.   Enjoy!

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in It's all about me, Media, Noticed and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to ON BEING THE BEARER OF BAD NEWS

  1. Mick says:

    Thanks Gerry;

  2. Graham says:

    It’s not fun hearing all this gloom and doom everyday either. Let’s change things up next week. Every NBC30 broadcast MUST devote 50% of the non-commercial time to Positive news. I know it’s out there, we just have to find it and produce it.
    I know that usually bad news sells, but I’d be willing to bet that for at least one week, good news would outsell bad. Let’s give it a try!!!

  3. Gerry says:

    Graham, it’s been tried. I know. I was part of it. Nobody watched.
    Still, we have to make the extra effort to get positive news and information in our newscasts, and we do.

  4. Doug says:

    HILARIOUS punchline link

  5. Gerry says:

    Couldn’t resist.

  6. Joan says:

    Brian Williams read on air some emails last week criticizing NBC for depressing us every night with the economic disaster. NBC responded by asking viewers to email suggestions of positive stories and is supposed to be doing them as of this week–maybe one a newscast. Everybody can use a good kicker to give them a smile, right Ger?

  7. Gerry says:

    Or a good kick. 🙂

Leave a Reply

