WHAT’S THE RUSH?

As the kids say, OMG!

57562025JMH025_BenefitThe White House has anointed Rush Limbaugh the leader the of Republican party.   So Rush said, “Fine, let’s debate!”  Yes, Rush Limbaugh, radio talk show host, has invited Barack Obama, president of the United States, to debate.

“So let’s have the debate! I am offering President Obama to come on this program — without staffers, without a TelePrompTer, without note cards — to debate me on the issues.”  (Limbaugh, on his program)

The world is watching, with a mix of amazement and amusement.  The talk show host and the popular new president, each using the other for his own benefit. 

They are expanding my profile, expanding my audience and expanding my influence,” (Limbaugh) wrote in an e-mail…to Politico, the Washington news site. “An ever-larger number of people are now being exposed to the antidote to Obamaism: conservatism, as articulated by me.”  (from the Financial Times)

And the man can articulate.  Years ago, I did a story on Rush Limbaugh as he was breaking big nationally.  I stood in his studio and watched him speak for 17 minutes… no script, no notes, no “umms” or “ahhs”.  Really, I timed him.  Whether or not I agreed with anything or everything that came out of his mouth didn’t matter.  I remember I stood there in awe of his talent to talk.

I also remember he told me he was, first and last, an entertainer.  

Right now,  both sides are giving the entertainer just what he wants, attention and an audience.   But could he be playing both sides?

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Media, News, People, Politics and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to WHAT’S THE RUSH?

  1. geofffox says:

    Arguing with Rush is like arguing with my daughter when she was in her teens. She wanted to choose the starting point for the facts in play. That way if she said anything contradictory earlier it would be excluded. She picked the point from which she had the highest ground and started there. Alas, the real world doesn’t work that way… except for Rush.

  2. Deacon says:

    The Limbaugh Letter: Z.

    Zzzzzzzzzzzzz …

  3. Deacon says:

    I meant to italicize The Limbaugh Letter. I know you love AP style. Deep down.

Leave a Reply

