FOR THIS, YOU NEED AN M.D.?

Having gotten all caught up in the much ado about the coach, the Courant, and the budget last week, I didn’t get a chance to touch on the other big story that affects all of us.  Especially me.

fat_bastardIn our (my) never-ending battle to lose weight and get fit (right now I’m slowly gaining the upper hand, but given my history, that could change at the sight of a cannoli), a huge study came out that got a lot of play. 

In essence, it said if you cut your calorie consumption, you’ll lose weight. 

No kidding.  Really???  

I don’t mean any disrespect to people who are far smarter than me, but I COULD HAVE TOLD YOU THAT.  Did they spend a lot of money on this study?  I hope not.   

Over the years, I’ve ended almost every “hot new diet” story with the line:  “We understand low fat diet and exercise works, too.”

There’s just no other way.  Damned shame, isn’t it?

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Diatribes, Health, News and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to FOR THIS, YOU NEED AN M.D.?

  1. Betty says:

    I had the same response to that study. Have we not known for years that eating less and exercising will cause you tl loose weight?!?!

Leave a Reply

