A PUBLIC SERVICE. OF SORTS.

I got this email from one of our producers at NBC30.  He’s a Facebook afficionado.   (My comments are in red.)

———–

Gerry,

There’s an epidemic spreading through Connecticut, and only YOU can cure it with your blog.  You need to talk to your people.  Please use the power of Your Word to stop this insanity.  Let me explain.  (He’s Eddie Haskell-ing me.  Sometimes this works.  And I didn’t know I had “people.”  ‘Yo, peeps!  G. here!!!’)

In the past five days, I’ve received seven messages from friends on faceook (sent to myself and more than a dozen others at the same time) that read something like this:  (Grammar, dammit!  How many times have we had the grammar conversation?)

“He he I saw this neked picture of u pop up on a website.  Click ehre to c it.”  

Wow.  That doesn’t sound like a virus or anything.  Well, Gerry – it IS a virus.  What tipped me off?  Consider the following:

A) There are no naked pictures of me out there (that I know of).  (That you know of???)

B) It was a hyperlink.  (I’m not sure what a hyperlink is.)

C) The obvious spelling errors – and the fact that the people who “sent” it to me are well educated.  (Criticizing the spelling of others?  Realllly?)

D) EACH ONE of the messages came from grown-ups.  Really big kids.  Hanging out on facebook.  (And your definition of a grown-up is???)

Turns out THEY got the same message and thought it was legit.  When they opened it, the virus took hold and spread itself to their friends in a similar message.  I asked my friends why they opened it in the first place.  Among their responses, I was told:

1) “I know the person who sent it to me.”  (You must be very proud.)

2) “I was worried there were naked pictures of me out there.”  (You must be very careless.)

3) “Nobody messages me so I was really happy to get one.”  (You must be very lonely.)

4) “I don’t know, it said naked pictures.”  (You must be very…uh…never mind.)

I get it, Gerry, I do.  Especially excuse #4.  (You ARE very…uh…never mind.) But I feel obligated to point out that it was your generation that taught me never to accept candy from strangers – or your creepy uncle giving you that funny look.  Your generation also told me not to look at dirty pictures (at least the women told me that).  (You listened?)

I think it’s great that all of the people who taught me about the media are on facebook now.  I really do.  I admire that they’re keeping with the times.  (Do I detect a touch of condescension?)

But for the love of God, Gerry, talk to them.  Educate them.  You’re a wise man.  You use technology.  People listen to you (even if it’s because we’re sometimes terrified of what would happen if we did NOT listen to you).  (What an a**kisser.  But you know, I like it!)  Tell them if it’s too good to be true, it probably is. 

As my 14-year-old cousin put it after receiving a similar message – “Sheesh.  Adults.”  (Send him to his room without his laptop.)

Thanks for letting me vent, Gerry.  Now go save facebook.  (Hey, glad to help.)

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Digital World, People and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A PUBLIC SERVICE. OF SORTS.

  1. Eddie Haskell says:

    If I didn’t just laugh so hard, I’d hate your guts. Checkmate. Well played. Jerk. 🙂

  2. Gerry says:

    Don’t be bitter.

  3. Graham says:

    Must be nice to have “people”. My wife has “people”, me!

  4. Mick says:

    I am really laughing at your comments Gerry . Thanks for the laughs

Leave a Reply

