ME AND THE CHIMP

No, no, I had no personal relationship with the ill-fated Travis of Stamford.  I do, however have a theory to share on the possible cause of his vicious insanity. 

I suspect that despite his steady diet of filet mignon, lobster, and chocolate…despite his comfortable life and the love of his owner… he was a bitter chimpanzee.

Bitter that his acting career had been largely limited to commercials (Old Navy, Coca Cola).   He had also appeared in a failed pilot for a series.

There were two sitcoms starring chimps  that I can recall.  (The fact that I recall them at all is probably cause for alarm.)

Jack Weston

Jack Weston

Jack Weston and Peggy Cass, two fine character actors, starred in “The Hathaways” in 1961.  The show was about a couple who adopted three pet chimps and treated them like children.  It didn’t last long.

Ted Bessell

Ted Bessell

In 1972, Ted Bessell played second fiddle in an even shorter-lived sitcom, “Me and the Chimp.”  Bessell survived 13 episodes.  (Bessell’s claim to fame was his role as the boyfriend on “That Girl.”  I can only assume Marlo Thomas was easier to work with than the chimp.)

Travis never made it to a weekly series.  There had to be long-simmering resentment.  But his story has all the earmarks of a Lifetime movie.  Love, laughter, a long-term relationship, and ultimately, tragedy. 

How much do you want to bet a script is already in the works?

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Living in the Past, News, TV Stuff and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to ME AND THE CHIMP

  1. Anita Blumpkin says:

    Jerry, I have been tough on you in the past but your blog was hilarious and loved it! It showed your sense of humor and that you are a real person with a great personality and sense of timing of current events. Loved it. Keep up the good work.

  2. Gerry says:

    Thanks Anita. My heart goes out to that woman…but this is just so ******up!

  3. Lee Gordon says:

    Gerry,
    I’d like to remind you (because I’m sure you have done all you can to forget) that about a million years ago you participated in a pancake eating contest against a simian named Cammie the Chimp.

  4. Gerry says:

    Wow! I forgot about that! Thanks for reminding Lee. Really. Thanks a lot. No, I mean it. (And I won.)

Leave a Reply

