DIGITAL VOYEUR

imagesSince being “duped” into joining Facebook 15 months ago, I have managed to accumulate more than 250 “friends.”  I don’t know 80 of them, though they seem nice enough.

logo_take25-bw_hires_esI’ve learned more than I need to know about about some of my “friends” because of the latest rage on Facebook.   It’s called “25 Random Things.”  The writer is supposed to list 25 things you didn’t know about him or her. 

I choose not to participate in this exercise.  If there’s something someone wants to know about me they can ask.  One to one.  I don’t lead an unlisted life, but I’m not laying it out there for general consumption, either.

Reading the lists of “25 Random Things” makes me feel a bit like a digital peeping Tom.  I’m looking through a window that the writer purposely left open, curtains parted.  Some of the lists are funny, others self-serving; some admissions are poignant, others are heartbreaking. 

Still, after reading each list, I don’t fully understand the need to “share.”   Maybe I prefer a hint of mystery.  Maybe I’m indifferent.  

I can like you a lot.  I just don’t need to know everything about you.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Digital World, It's all about me, Noticed, People and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to DIGITAL VOYEUR

  1. Deacon says:

    All right. That’s it, Gerrome. We’re having a pint and playing 25 questions. I don’t know you but I’m nice enough.

  2. Gerry says:

    Deacon, I have no doubt. And I’ve been into Guinness since the Ireland trip.

  3. Graham says:

    I joined FB a couple of weeks ago so that we can see pictures of a friends kids. They’ve moved away and it’s a great way to watch the kids grow. But, since joining, FB has tried to hook me up with people from high school and college. So far, I only recognize three of the names out of about 75.
    You are right, there is so much info on there that I can not imagine putting on the web, but, to each there own.

Leave a Reply

