ADIOS, PLAYA GRANDE

I have been incredibly fortunate to travel as much as I have, and to play some incredible golf courses along the way.

But in those travels, there has been no course more enjoyable and breathtaking than Playa Grandé, on the northeastern coast of the Dominican Republic.   (So sez me.)

View from 11th green

View from 11th green

Never heard if it?  You’re not alone.  When I discovered it several years ago, the greens fee was $60.00.  Now it’s $112.00.  Still a steal for a course like this.  And pretty soon, it will be zero.  The course is shutting down for renovation.  And when it reopens, it will be private.  (Sob.)

I have no idea who bought the course, named for the grand strand of beach it sits high above.  I have no idea how such a golf course and a beach can go virtually unnnoticed by the touristic hordes.  But I feel privileged that I got to enjoy both while I could. 

The beach, from the green on 13

The beach, from the green on 13

Playa Grandé was kind in this farewell visit.  Playing alone (with a mandatory and necessary caddie), I shot a 91.  Pretty good for my first round of the year  (or my 15th, for that matter).  There was just a gentle breeze and the weather was the nicest it would be all week by far.  (Dammit.)

I assume those who have the means will enjoy the course for years to come.   For the rest of us who had the pleasure,  it could be paradise lost. 

But that just means we’ll just have to find another.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in It's all about me, Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to ADIOS, PLAYA GRANDE

  1. Linda says:

    Ahhhh! My Monday starts off with the return of my favorite blogmaster. Welcome back! You are very fortunate to be able to travel as much as you do. You seem to make the very most of it and you are so kind to share your wonderful experiences and some pictures with all of us. At least you come back to temps in the 30’s and 40’s instead of the teens. Hope the first day back at the office goes smoothly.

  2. hendu says:

    Looks like you had an awful time. I am sorry that you didn’t enjoy your vacation. Next time I’ll fall on the sword and go in you place.

  3. Gerry says:

    Thank you Linda. Back to work today.

    And Hendu, top this: I played the entire round with one ball. I started with an old TopFlite, figuring I’d lose it quickly. Never did.

  4. hendu says:

    Wow, not shabby for the first round of the year. This could either be the start of your greatest golf season ever, or your high water mark for the summer.

  5. Gerry says:

    If only I’d made a few putts…

Leave a Reply

