See Me, Feel Me, Touch Me

“Did you hear Muslims are going to be exempted from the new airport security procedures because it’s offensive to them?”

That’s what someone told my wife, a longtime flight attendant for a major airline.  That someone was the pilot on her last trip.  The pilot!

“Yeah, wait til you get in the car to drive home.  It’ll be all over the radio.  This story’s gonna blow up.”

The story is, of course, false.  And the objective of the new security procedures is to keep us from getting blown up.  As the headline to Hartford Courant columnist Rick Green‘s piece on Friday so succinctly put it:  Better Patted Down Than Blown Up.

If that headline doesn’t work for you, Philadelphia-based columnist/radio host Michael Smerconish, who seems bi-political, does a nice job separating airport security fact from fiction in this column.

One curious byproduct of this controversy is the rush some otherwise proper media types are getting by using the word “junk” in its slang form.  It seems to make them absolutely giddy.  They leave me thinking that if a TSA agent “touches their junk,” it’ll be the most action they’ve had in a while.

I hope you get where you’re going this week.  I also hope the few don’t ruin it for the many with their so-called “National Opt-Out Day.” 

Flying isn’t a right.  It’s a privilege.  And please, be nice to your flight attendant.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Diatribes, News, People, Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to See Me, Feel Me, Touch Me

  1. Li'l Em-Kel says:

    Me? I can’t wait for my virgin pat down. I plan to react with a male version of Meg Ryan’s performance in When Harry Met Sally. I want to see if I can embarrass my patter more than he embarrasses me.

  2. As usual, you just make way too much sense.
    Have a Happy Thanksgiving.

  3. Gerry…thanks for a little sanity in an insane time….

  4. Excellent choice of music to go with this post, Gerry. And li’l em’s comment is hilarious, as is your reply to it.

  5. James says:

    We just don’t get it in this country! Recently, returning from a trip to London, I had my carry-on bags pulled and a detailed search done by a no-nonsense British security officer wearing an MP-5 machine gun with a 30+ shot magazine. I had my camera equipment with me. After wiping down my bags with some kind of swab, that was then tested in an analyzer, and he pulled out each lense, removed the lens caps from both ends, and looked through the lense. He then asked me to attach one lense to the camera body, and turn the camera on. At this point he made sure the camera was actually working.

    Task accomplished, he thanked me for my cooperation and apologized for the delay. When I said, “No problem. You can’t be too careful today – after all, I’m flying.” His response was, “I wish more of your countrymen understood that. Too many of your mates seem more concerned about convenience than they do about their own safety.”

    Unfortunately there are a lot of people in this world who wish the USA harm. We have forgotten the lessons of 9/11.

Leave a Reply

