The Problem with Facebook

As of this week, Facebook has 500,000,000 customers (that’s 500-million if, like me, you have a problem with a lot of zeros), and it seems a lot of them aren’t happy.

Facebook took a face plant in a big customer satisfaction survey, ranking right down there with airlines and the cable companies (though I hear nice things about Comcast).

There’s a lot of talk about privacy and spam issues, but that’s only so much bat guano.  I think a lot of Facebook users are mad because they’re addicted to Facebook. 

Paging Dr. Drew Pinsky!  (You’re not a celebrity?  Never mind.  Dr. Drew doesn’t help the great unwashed masses of non-celebrity.  That would be a complete waste of his talent and expertise.  But I digress.) 

When I joined Facebook, I was temporarily sucked into its vortex.  But somehow, I summoned the strength to extract myself from its digital tentacles, and now I consume in moderation.

You'd smile too.

I also think Facebook users are disgruntled because they’ve made a billionaire of the website’s 26 year old founder, Mark Zuckerberg. 

Filthy rich at 26.  Thanks to you.  And you.  And you.  And me.

Damn.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Diatribes, Digital World, News, People and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Problem with Facebook

  1. Linda says:

    Thank goodness not thanks to me! The only thing I’m addicted to is chocolate. A billionaire at 26? I sure hope he knows how to pay it forward.

  2. Beckie says:

    You’ve heard nice things about Comcast???? Who ya been listening to?????

    “My name is Beckie and I’m a Facebook addict.” Love that I’ve been able to connect with old friends and “lost” family. And gaming! Whoa! Never considered myself a gamer till FB game along.

  3. Sue D says:

    One of my FB friends was credited with liking “Golf”, which was a link… I clicked on the link, and every comment that mentioned the word golf posted by everyone I know was on that site… What’s up with THAT?!? It automatically pulls the word from everyone’s comments? I have my privacy settings really high, but I don’t know if all my golf comments end up there… yikes!

Leave a Reply

