FAT TUB OF GOO

That’s pretty much what I am right now. 

Feelin’ large.  Way too large.  Clothes feelin’ tight.  Way too tight.

forster87When I’m feeling this fat, it usually reminds of me of former big league pitcher Terry Forster.  He was a pretty good pitcher, and a large man.  Not C.C. Sabathia large, but large enough to attract the attention of David Letterman, who, on his old NBC show, referred to Forster as “a fat tub of goo.”   This became Forster’s everlasting claim to fame, and he even appeared on Dave’s show to display his girth.

imagesIt also brings to mind my other favorite “fat” story, now 20 years old.  That would be Jim Schoenfeld, now general manager of the Hartford Wolf Pack, calling referee Don Koharski “a fat pig,” and urging him to “have another doughnut.”   Koharski had just fallen, and accused Schoenfeld, then coaching New Jersey, of pushing him.  The NHL at its best.

I got myself into this situation by eating a little too much, drinking a little too much (responsibly, of course), and spending too much time at a keyboard instead of on a treadmill.  Also, 2008 will be the first full calendar year I will have gone without a cigarette since, oh, 1973.  Maybe food and drink replaced cigarettes.  Maybe not.  Either way, it’s no excuse.

I got myself into this situation, and it’s time to get myself out of it.

About Gerry

I've been covering Connecticut news and sports since 1974. I know, I don't look that old.
This entry was posted in Health, It's all about me, People, Sports and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to FAT TUB OF GOO

  1. Stephanie says:

    Blame it the Holidays!! Eating all that good food.

  2. hendu says:

    Hey, I have lost 70 pounds over the past 18 months. It is possible and it is always helpful to have full access to a gym. I think I may know of a company that can provide that for you. And to show how much i am willing to help, net time you want to go on a little R+R, send me instead. Just doin my part Mr. Brooks

  3. Cathy says:

    Congrats on not smoking for a year..it is tough.I still smoke,tried to quit,but after 2 days I was such a B**ch.I was driving myself crazy.

  4. Gerry says:

    Steph, I wish I could.
    Cath, smoke ‘em if you got ‘em. You’ll quit when it’s time.
    And Hendu, you’re a prince. Such generosity! I’m hitting the ‘mill hard, but maybe I’ll take it to the gym, too.

  5. Melissa says:

    Hey congrats on not smoking… Don’t worry about the extra pounds…It’s the holidays and if any one asks just tell them your Santa’s Cookie tester.. :0) Thats what my husband tells his friends.

  6. Pingback: THE BIG O « THE BROOKS FILE

  7. Pingback: Bolted behind bars … Hey-O! | Shoulder Pads and Handcuffs

Leave a Reply

